It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila to share with others what you’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

I saw this on Leeswamme’s Blog and since I find myself spending more time indoors lately I thought I would finally take part.

Finished

This week I finished two books:

  • Unseen Academicals by Terry Pratchett, the 37th Discworld novel which provides a great read about some new and old characters in Ankh Morpork – see review on Suite101
  • The Brightest Star in the Sky by Marian Keyes which was one more brilliant story by a woman who writes a lot more than just chick lit although that is how she is mainly categorised.

Started

  • The Post-Birthday World by Lionel Shriver. A book by the author of We Need To Talk About Kevin. I have started it many times and although the idea that the main love interest speaks with a cockney accent keeps putting me off, I hope to finally finish it.

Planned

  • Angels by Marian Keyes
  • The Magus by John Fowles
  • Fierce Invalids Home From Hot Climates

Other News

  • I like the idea of the Princess Bride readalong, which I read about on Leeswammes’ blog, and will be doing that in October. It is hosted by Chris from Book-a-Rama and begins on October 2

3 responses to “It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

  1. Hey Joanna, nice that you are also doing this event. You are reading some great books!

    I also love Marian Keyes. The Brightest Star in the Sky is a great book. I love her books, but I don’t think I’ve read Angels. Are they short stories maybe (not keen)?

    It’s great that you’re joining in the Princess Bride readalong!! You must know more than me, I’d never heard of the book. Did you “sign up” at Chris Book A Rama? And did you sign up at Sheila’s for the Monday post, so others can find you? I’ve found a lot of great blogs by following the links at Sheila’s.

    Have a great reading week (and otherwise, of course).

  2. Hi Judith! I’ve been enjoying your Monday posts for a while and was finally able to join in, which is great. I adore Keyes’ books and I’ve had Angels since 2002 but never got around to reading it. It’s about one of the sisters (Rachel got Married, Watermelon, etc) and is supposed to be quite good. Her only stories that I don’t like are those short ones that are non-fiction, can’t say I’m too keen on them. My favourite of hers has to be ‘Is anyone out there’, have you read it?

    Not sure about the details re: the Pricess Bride readalong but I’ve had the book for the last few years and thought it sounded like a great opportunity. A great reading week to you as well 🙂

  3. I tihnk my favorite Keyes is Rachel Sullivan is Getting Married or Watermelon. I did also like Is There Anyone Out There? but just not as much. I like the books with the sisters, they were great.

Leave a Reply

