The Girl Who Would Be King

The Girl Who Would Be King by Kelly Thompson is a book I came across when I was looking for women comic book writers. This is Thompson’s first novel and had a fundraising campaign on Kickstarter attracting $26,478. That’s a pretty incredible amount for a first novel.

Thompson says this book is for

Fans of superheroes

Fans of comics

Fans of YA and Crossover Fiction

Fans of Feminism (woo!)

Fans of strong but complicated female leads

Fans of The Hunger Games or Battle Royale. (While the themes and plots are quite different, the violence is similarly intense)

Fans of character driven epics

And fans who enjoy falling love and then having their hearts torn out…who doesn’t love that?!

Check out the trailer and see what you think.

A novel about two teenage girls with superpowers and radically different agendas, destined for a collision that will rock the world:

Separated by thousands of miles, two young women are about to realize their extraordinary powers which will bind their lives together in ways they can’t begin to understand.

Protecting others. Maintaining order. Being good. These are all important things for Bonnie Braverman, even if she doesn’t understand why. Confined to a group home since she survived the car accident that killed both her parents, Bonnie has lived her life until now in self-imposed isolation and silence; but when an opportunity presents itself to help another girl in need, Bonnie has to decide whether to actually use the power she has long suspected she has. Power that frightens her.

Across the country, Lola LeFever is inheriting her own power by sending her mother over a cliff…literally. For Lola the only thing that matters is power; getting it, taking it, and eliminating anyone who would get in the way of her pursuit of it. With her mother dead and nothing to hold her back from the world any longer, Lola sets off to test her own powers on anyone unfortunate enough to cross her. And Lola’s not afraid of anything.

One girl driven to rescue, save, and heal; the other driven to punish, destroy, and kill.

And now they’re about to meet.

Recommended for ages 15 and up

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: